🎉 Early bird offer: Save only 10% on your assistant software in June with the code "Free10"!

What is color blindness and how Eye-Able helps

Sharing is desired:

Bild eines Heißluftballons mit vielen Farben

Definition of color weakness

Color perception is based on the ability to distinguish between the three primary colors red, green and blue. Man mixes all other colors from these primary colors. Special light-sensitive cells are responsible for color vision: the cones, which are located in the retina. If the perception of one of these basic colors is limited, one speaks of one color weakness, such as red-green blindness and green-blue blindness. If, in the worst case, you can no longer see one or more colors at all, you speak of one color blindness.

men and color weakness

The following figures show how many people are color blind: around eight percent of all men but only around 0.4 percent of women suffer from it, reports the professional association of ophthalmologists (BVA). The red-green weakness is the most widespread with about 50 percent of all cases. So we are alone in Germany about 3.5 million people affected. Total color blindness, in which those affected can only distinguish between light and dark, is much rarer - only one in 100,000 people suffers from it. In addition, their visual acuity is reduced and they suffer from strong glare [1].

The following images simulate how color blind people see the world. The original image can be seen as well as its change in red, green or blue blindness:

Figure 1: Simulation of different color weaknesses. Original (top left), red blindness (top right), green blindness (bottom left) and blue blindness (bottom right)

Possible problems when operating a website

It becomes difficult for people with color blindness, when a specific meaning is associated with a color. Due to color weakness, differences between different colors can become blurred, making differentiation more difficult. For example, this could be the colors of different data in a chart. The problems people encounter here are shown in Figure 2:

Figure 2: On the left the unchanged diagram, on the right with simulated green blindness

While all colors are easily distinguishable in the left unchanged image, the difference becomes much more difficult for a person with green blindness. The meaning of the color of buttons, the marking of areas on maps or general colored areas can remain hidden to people with color deficiency.

How Eye-Able Adjusts Colors

To help people with color weakness, Eye-Able has included the color weakness feature. As shown so far, there are different types and characteristics of color weaknesses. Therefore standing in Eye-Able altogether six different modes to disposal. There is a specially adapted process for each color weakness, the possibility of completely removing the colors and increasing the contrast or color saturation. The intensity can be adjusted for each of the functions. 100% mean a correction for color blindness, while smaller values compensate for color weakness. In order to make color differences more visible again for those affected the affected color areas shifted towards visible colors. For example, when correcting a red deficiency, the red colors are shifted towards the blue color spectrum. To do this, Eye-Able adjusts all visible colors on the website. The following figure shows the use of this function:

Figure 3: Representation of the color correction based on Ishihara test images (Source: Wellcome collection CC BY 4.0)

As can be seen in Figure 3, color differences can be better displayed again for those affected by color correction. In addition to the respective color weakness modes, increasing the contrast or color saturation can also lead to an improvement. The following traffic light shows another example of how Eye-Able color correction can make color differences visible again:

Figure 4: Traffic light with normal colors (left), traffic light for people with red color weakness (middle), traffic light for people with red color weakness after eye-able correction (right)

sources and further information

For those interested, here are some of our sources and further information material:

[1] https://focus-arztsuche.de/magazin/gesundheitswissen/farbfehlsichtigkeit-und-farbenblindheit-erkennen

[2] https://www.sehtestbilder.de/sehtest/

You can also do an eye test here. Caution: An online eye test can therefore only ever give a clue. If you suspect color blindness, please consult an ophthalmologist.

[3] Françoise Viénot, Hans Brettel and John D. Mollon
Digital video color maps for checking the legibility of displays by dichromats
Color Research and Application, 24(4):243-252
, 1999.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

interest aroused? We're here to help.

With over 25 functions related to digital accessibility, Eye-Able also helps you to reduce your barriers in the long term. In this way you make your information accessible to everyone and do not exclude any visitors - in short: you open up a new target group without high marketing volumes.

Non-binding consultation on digital accessibility in general

Discussion of possible optimization potentials on your website

Presentation of the assistance software directly on your website

more comments

If it may be something more.

Das Bild zeigt Code in einer Computer-Konsole.

Integration with dynamic reloading

In addition to loading the Eye-Able assets directly from the Eye-Able or local server, there is also the option of downloading the data from Eye-Able by clicking on

Was ist Farbenblindheit und wie Eye-Able hilft

Teilen ist erwünscht:

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on email
Bild eines Heißluftballons mit vielen Farben

Definition von Farbschwäche

Die Wahrnehmung von Farben beruht auf der Fähigkeit die drei Grundfarben Rot, Grün und Blau zu unterschieden. Alle anderen Farben mischt der Mensch aus diesen Grundfarben zusammen. Für das Farbensehen zuständig sind spezielle lichtempfindliche Zellen: die Zapfen, welche in der Netzhaut liegen. Ist die Wahrnehmung einer dieser Grundfarben eingeschränkt spricht man von einer Farbschwäche, beispielsweise die Rot-Grün-Sehschwäche und die Grün-Blau-Sehschwäche. Sieht man im schlimmsten Fall eine oder mehrere Farben überhaupt nicht mehr, spricht man von einer Farbenblindheit.

Männer und Farbschwäche

Wie viele Menschen farbenblind sind, zeigen folgende Zahlen: Etwa acht Prozent aller Männer, aber nur rund 0,4 Prozent der Frauen leiden darunter, berichtet der Berufsverband der Augenärzte (BVA). Die Rot-Grün-Schwäche ist mit etwa 50 Prozent aller Fälle am weitesten verbreitet. Allein in Deutschland sind also etwa 3,5 Millionen Menschen betroffen. Eine totale Farbblindheit, bei der die Betroffenen nur noch Hell und Dunkel unterscheiden können, ist viel seltener – nur einer von 100.000 Menschen erkrankt daran. Bei ihnen ist zusätzlich die Sehschärfe herabgesetzt und sie leiden unter starker Blendung [1].

Folgende Bilder simulieren wie farbeblinde Menschen die Welt sehen. Es ist dabei das Originalbild zu sehen sowie dessen Veränderung bei einer Rot-, Grün- oder Blaublindheit:

Abbildung 1: Simulation verschiedener Farbschwächen. Original (oben links), Rotblindheit (Oben rechts), Grünblindheit (Unten links) und Blaublindheit (Unten rechts)

Mögliche Probleme bei der Bedienung einer Webseite

Schwierig wird es für Menschen mit Farbsehschwäche, wenn eine bestimmte Bedeutung mit einer Farbe verknüpft wird. Durch die Farbschwäche können Unterschiede verschiedener Farben verschwimmen und so die Unterscheidung schwieriger werden. Dies können beispielsweise die Farben verschiedener Daten in einem Diagramm sein. Auf welche Probleme Menschen hier stoßen ist in Abbildung 2 dargestellt:

Abbildung 2: Links das unveränderte Diagramm, rechts mit simulierter Grünblindheit

Während im linken unveränderten Bild alle Farben gut unterscheidbar sind, wird der Unterschied für einen Menschen mit Grünblindheit viel schwieriger. Auch die Bedeutung der Farbe von Knöpfen, die Markierung von Gebieten auf Landkarten oder allgemeine farbliche Flächen können Menschen mit Farbschwäche verborgen bleiben.

Wie Eye-Able die Farben anpasst

Um Menschen mit einer Farbschwäche zu helfen hat Eye-Able die Farbschwäche-Funktion integriert. Wie bisher gezeigt gibt es verschiedene Arten und Ausprägungen von Farbschwächen. Deshalb stehen in Eye-Able insgesamt sechs verschiedene Modi zur Verfügung. Es gibt für jede Farbschwäche ein eigens angepasstes Verfahren, die Möglichkeit die Farben komplett zu entfernen und Kontrast bzw. Farbsättigung zu verstärken. Bei jeder der Funktionen kann die Intensität angepasst werden. 100% bedeuten dabei eine Korrektur für eine Farbenblindheit, während kleinere Werte eine Farbschwäche ausgleichen. Um Farbunterschiede für Betroffene wieder besser sichtbar zu machen werden die betroffenen Farbbereiche zu sichtbaren Farben hin verschoben. Bei der Korrektur einer Rotschwäche werden beispielsweise die roten Farben zum blauen Farbspektrum hin verschoben. Eye-Able passt dafür sämtliche sichtbaren Farben auf der Webseite an. Folgende Abbildung zeigt welchen Nutzen diese Funktion hat:

Abbildung 3: Darstellung der Farbkorrektur anhand von Ishihara Testbildern (Quelle: Wellcome collection CC BY 4.0)

Wie in Abbildung 3 zu sehen ist können Farbunterschiede durch die Farbkorrektur für Betroffene wieder besser dargestellt werden. Neben den jeweiligen Farbschwäche Modi kann die Erhöhung des Kontrastes oder der Farbsättigung ebenfalls zu einer Verbesserung führen. Ein weiteres Beispiel wie die Eye-Able Farbkorrektur Farbunterschiede wieder sichtbar machen kann, zeigt folgende Ampel:

Abbildung 4: Ampel mit normalen Farben (links), Ampel für Menschen mit Rotschwäche (mitte), Ampel für Menschen mit Rotschwäche nach der Eye-Able Korrektur (rechts)

Quellen und Weiterführendes

Für Interessierte sind hier einige unserer Quellen und weiterführendes Info-Material:

[1] https://focus-arztsuche.de/magazin/gesundheitswissen/farbfehlsichtigkeit-und-farbenblindheit-erkennen

[2] https://www.sehtestbilder.de/sehtest/

Hier kann auch selbst ein Sehtest durchgeführt werden. Vorsicht: Ein Online-Sehtest kann daher immer nur einen Anhaltspunkt geben. Wenn Sie eine Farbsehschwäche vermuten, suchen Sie bitte einen Augenarzt auf.

[3] Françoise Viénot, Hans Brettel and John D. Mollon
Digital video colourmaps for checking the legibility of displays by dichromats
Color Research and Application, 24(4): 243-252
, 1999.

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Interesse geweckt? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.

Mit über 25 Funktionen rund um die digitale Barrierefreiheit hilft Eye-Able auch Ihnen dabei, Ihre Barrieren nachhaltig zu reduzieren. So machen Sie Ihre Informationen zugänglich für alle und schließen keine Besucher*innen aus – kurzum: Sie erschließen eine neue Zielgruppe, ganz ohne hohe Marketing-Volumina.

Unverbindliches Beratungsgespräch zur digitalen Barrierefreiheit im Allgemeinen

Erörterung möglicher Optimierungspotentiale auf Ihrer Website

Vorstellung der Assistenzsoftware direkt auf Ihrer Website

Weitere Beiträge

Falls es etwas mehr sein darf.