🎉 Early bird offer: Save only 10% on your assistant software in June with the code "Free10"!

European Accessibility Act – what is it exactly

Sharing is desired:

In 2019, the European Union laid down guidelines for digital accessibility with the "European Accessibility Act", EAA for short. In this way, everyone should have equal access to telecommunications, software and the Internet.

In general, accessibility means that everyone, regardless of age or physical limitations, has access to services, goods or buildings. The EAA determines the extent to which the EU market should be geared towards greater accessibility and which legislative changes need to be initiated before they can be implemented.

The European Accessibility Act emerged from the Web Accessibility Directive of 2016. The EAA has now further specified and refined these guidelines. Areas such as vending machines, television programs and the Internet were subsequently submitted and are now included in the EAA.

The EU member states must now publish corresponding laws at state level by June 2022, which deal with the points recorded in the EAA. These laws must then be implemented by companies by 2025. The laws resulting from the EAA replace the currently applicable guidelines on accessibility, which differ from country to country. The new Europe-wide accessibility basis should now change this: Within the EU there should then be relatively uniform regulations at country level. It should also be noted that the new Accessibility Act now also includes private companies and makes them responsible. So far, only public organizations have been affected when it comes to accessibility.

Products and services impacted by the EAA include the following:
– Smartphones and tablets
– E-commerce services
– Computers and operating systems
– Television and digital TV services
– Banking services and ATMs, as well as ticket machines
– e-books
– Public transport systems and services (bus, train, air and sea transport)

Why the European Accessibility Act is so important:
The EAA enables fair and equitable social participation for all people, regardless of age and possible limitations. According to the Federal Statistical Office (2017), there are 7.8 million people classified as severely disabled in Germany alone. 97 % of this group acquired the disability during their lifetime. The purchasing power of this group is estimated at around 720 billion euros per year. The draft law is also a kind of economic motor, which addresses an enlargement of the market through accessibility and should therefore also attract profit-oriented companies.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

interest aroused? We're here to help.

With over 25 functions related to digital accessibility, Eye-Able also helps you to reduce your barriers in the long term. In this way you make your information accessible to everyone and do not exclude any visitors - in short: you open up a new target group without high marketing volumes.

Non-binding consultation on digital accessibility in general

Discussion of possible optimization potentials on your website

Presentation of the assistance software directly on your website

more comments

If it may be something more.

Das Bild zeigt Code in einer Computer-Konsole.

Integration with dynamic reloading

In addition to loading the Eye-Able assets directly from the Eye-Able or local server, there is also the option of downloading the data from Eye-Able by clicking on

European Accessibility Act – was ist das genau

Teilen ist erwünscht:

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on email

Die Europäische Union hat im Jahr 2019 mit dem „European Accessibility Act“, kurz EAA, Richtlinien zur digitalen Barrierefreiheit festgelegt. So soll allen Menschen ein gleichwertiger Zugang zu Telekommunikation, Software und Internet ermöglicht werden.

Ganz allgemein bedeutet Barrierefreiheit, dass jede Person, unabhängig von Alter oder körperlicher Einschränkung, Zugang zu Dienstleistungen, Waren oder Gebäuden erhält. Der EAA legt fest, inwieweit der EU-Markt auf mehr Barrierefreiheit ausgerichtet werden soll und welche Gesetzesänderungen bis zur Umsetzung angestoßen werden müssen.

Dabei entstand der European Accessibility Act aus der Web Accessibility Directive vom Jahr 2016. Die EAA hat diese Richtlinien nun noch weiter spezifiziert und verfeinert. Bereiche wie Automaten, Fernsehprogramme und Internet wurden nachgereicht und sind nun im EAA vorgesehen.

Die EU-Mitgliedsstaaten müssen nun bis Juni 2022 entsprechende Gesetze auf Landesebene veröffentlichen, welche die im EAA festgehaltenen Punkte behandelt. Diese Gesetze sind dann bis zum Jahr 2025 von den Unternehmen umzusetzen. Dabei ersetzen die aus der EAA entstehenden Gesetze die aktuell geltenden Richtlinien zur Barrierefreiheit, die von Land zu Land unterschiedlich sind. Dies soll die neue europaweite Barrierefreiheits-Grundlage nun ändern: Innerhalb der EU soll es dann auf Länder-Ebene relativ einheitliche Regelungen geben. Besonders anzumerken ist ebenfalls, dass der neue Barrierefreiheits-Act nun auch private Unternehmen aufnimmt und diese zur Verantwortung bringt. Bisher waren beim Thema Barrierefreiheit nur öffentliche Organisationen betroffen.

Zu den Produkten und Dienstleistungen, die vom EAA betroffen sind, zählen die Folgenden:
– Smartphones und Tablets
– E-Commerce-Dienstleistungen
– Computer und Betriebssysteme
– Fernseher und digitale TV-Dienste
– Bankdienstleistungen und Bankautomaten, sowie Ticket-Automaten
– E-Books
– Systeme und Dienstleistungen des öffentlichen Transports (Bus, Bahn, Flug- und Schiffverkehr)

Warum der European Accessibility Act so wichtig ist:
Der EAA ermöglicht eine faire und gerechte gesellschaftliche Teilhabe für alle Menschen, unabhängig von Alter und möglichen Einschränkungen. Alleine in Deutschland leben laut statistischem Bundesamt (2017) 7,8 Millionen Menschen, die als schwerbehindert eingestuft sind. Dabei haben 97 % dieser Gruppe die Behinderung im Laufe ihres Lebens erworben. Die Kaufkraft dieser Gruppe wird auf ca. 720 Milliarden Euro jährlich geschätzt. Der Gesetzesentwurf ist also auch eine Art wirtschaftlicher Motor, der durch Zugänglichkeit eine Vergrößerung des Marktes anspricht und somit auch profit-orientierte Unternehmen auf den Plan rufen sollte.

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Interesse geweckt? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.

Mit über 25 Funktionen rund um die digitale Barrierefreiheit hilft Eye-Able auch Ihnen dabei, Ihre Barrieren nachhaltig zu reduzieren. So machen Sie Ihre Informationen zugänglich für alle und schließen keine Besucher*innen aus – kurzum: Sie erschließen eine neue Zielgruppe, ganz ohne hohe Marketing-Volumina.

Unverbindliches Beratungsgespräch zur digitalen Barrierefreiheit im Allgemeinen

Erörterung möglicher Optimierungspotentiale auf Ihrer Website

Vorstellung der Assistenzsoftware direkt auf Ihrer Website

Weitere Beiträge

Falls es etwas mehr sein darf.