🎉 New tool: Simple language. Click the button and try it out live

The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities at a glance

Share post:

The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities at a glance

Share this post:

The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) promotes and protects the rights of people with disabilities. It is an indispensable document for our society because it brought about a fundamental change in political attitudes towards people with disabilities when it was introduced. According to the German Institute for Human Rightsit established a human rights approach:

People with disabilities are bearers of human rights and the state has a duty to respect, guarantee and protect the rights of people with disabilities. In this understanding, disability is seen as an enrichment of human diversity.

The progress made by the various nations that adhere to this convention is monitored and criticized in so-called state reviews. The second and third country reviews took place in August last year. A federal conference is to be held in Germany in the near future. The original date, February 27, 2024, is no longer valid and we have not yet been able to find a new date.

What is the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities?

The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, or "Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities", is an international treaty that was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on December 13, 2006.
Its main objective is to protect and promote the rights and dignity of people with disabilities worldwide. The convention aims to enable participation and equal rights, and applies the human rights already recognized in other human rights conventions to people with disabilities.
Internationally, it came into force on May 3, 2008. According to the provisions of the Convention, it came into force in Germany on March 26, 2009 and has been applicable law here since then and must be implemented by all state institutions. To ensure that the UN CRPD is implemented and to monitor progress or shortcomings, the "Monitoring Body" of the German Institute for Human Rights was established in 2009.

The second and third state examinations: something needs to be done here

"We are different distances away from full participation and self-determination in different areas. In some areas, there are more legal regulations and political efforts, such as the accessibility of official buildings, but life doesn't just take place in offices," says Dr. Britta Schlegel, Head of the Monitoring Institute for Human Rights.

Education:

The challenges in the education sector are reflected in the lack of motivation and rejection of inclusion. "In the school sector, we can clearly see that there are really large sections of society that are either skeptical or against it because of the prevailing stereotypes about children with disabilities," says Schlegel.

In some federal states, the proportion of pupils in special schools is stagnating or even increasing. Inclusive schools are seen as half-hearted, which leads to segregation and inadequate life courses.

Lack of self-determination:

The Monitoring Body emphasizes a lack of self-determination, particularly in the school sector and in employment in workshops. Self-determination means being able to take advantage of individual offers and not having to operate in a "highly developed system of special structures".
Since 2022, there have been guidelines for deinstitutionalization, i.e. the reduction of inpatient facilities. The system should provide more individual support services for people with disabilities. However, this deinstitutionalization has made little progress. There is a lack of a clear strategy and financial resources continue to flow mainly into inpatient facilities.

No protection against violence:

People with disabilities, especially in closed systems, are exposed to a higher risk of violence. There is still no independent monitoring body for the protection against violence in institutions, as required by Article 16 of the UN CRPD.
There is no effective access to justice, no accessibility in women's shelters, and although SGB paragraph 37a requires violence protection concepts, there are no effective controls or minimum criteria.

All these shortcomings are also mentioned in the concluding observations of the Committee which were published in English on 08.09.2023.

The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities has significantly changed the way in which people with disabilities are treated. It contributes to an inclusive and equal society. The upcoming conference to review the second and third state review provides an opportunity to address challenges and work together towards a world in which the rights of persons with disabilities are protected and respected. This process is not only a review of the States Parties, but also a collective commitment to a world without barriers and discrimination.

Simple for all

Interest aroused? We will be happy to help you.

With over 25 functions for digital accessibility, Eye-Able also helps you to reduce your barriers in the long term. In this way, you make your information accessible to all and do not exclude any visitors - in short: you tap into a new target group without high marketing volumes.

Icon shows accessibility figure

Consultation

Non-binding consultation on digital accessibility in general

Icon shows accessibility figure

Analysis

Discussion of possible optimization potential on your website

Icon shows accessibility figure

Live Demo

Presentation of the assistance software directly on your website

More contributions

If it may be a little more:

The picture shows 4 forms that are transparent. Behind them you can see two hands operating a laptop.

When online forms become an obstacle

Everyone knows them, but not everyone loves them: Today we're talking about online forms! We all know the situation: some product is ordered from an online store, the selection

🎉 Neues Tool: Einfache Sprache. Button klicken und Live ausprobieren

Die UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention im Überblick

Beitrag teilen:

Die UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention im Überblick

Teile diesen Beitrag:

Die UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention (UN-BRK) fördert und schützt die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderungen. Sie ist ein unverzichtbares Dokument für unsere Gesellschaft, weil sie bei ihrer Einführung einen grundsätzlichen Wandel der politischen Haltung gegenüber Menschen mit Behinderungen zufolge hatte. Durch sie wurde, laut dem deutschen Institut für Menschenrechte, ein menschenrechtlicher Ansatz etabliert:

Menschen mit Behinderungen sind Träger*innen von Menschenrechten und der Staat ist in der Pflicht, die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderungen zu achten, zu gewährleisten und zu schützen. Behinderung wird in diesem Verständnis als Bereicherung der menschlichen Vielfalt angesehen.

Die Fortschritte der verschiedenen Nationen, die sich an diese Konvention halten, werden in sogenannten Staatenprüfungen mitverfolgt und kritisiert. Die zweite und dritte Staatenprüfung fand kombiniert im August des letzten Jahres statt. Hierzu soll in Deutschland zeitnah eine Bundeskonferenz abgehalten werden. Der ursprüngliche Termin, der 27.02.2024, ist nicht mehr aktuell und wir können bisher keinen neuen ausfindig machen.

Was ist die UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention?

Die UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention oder „Übereinkommen über die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderungen“, ist ein völkerrechtlicher Vertrag, der am 13. Dezember 2006 von der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen verabschiedet wurde.
Ihr Hauptziel ist es, die Rechte und die Würde von Menschen mit Behinderungen weltweit zu schützen und zu fördern. Die Konvention soll Teilhabe sowie Gleichberechtigung ermöglichen und konkretisiert die bereits anerkannten Menschenrechte aus anderen Menschenrechtsübereinkommen auf Menschen mit Behinderungen.
International ist es am 3. Mai 2008 in Kraft getreten. Nach den Verfügungen der Konvention trat sie am 26. März 2009 in Deutschland in Kraft und ist hier seitdem auch geltendes Recht und muss von allen staatlichen Einrichtungen umgesetzt werden muss. Um sicherzustellen, dass die UN-BRK umgesetzt wird, und um die Fortschritte oder Mängel zu überwachen, wurde 2009 die “Monitoring-Stelle” des Deutschen Instituts für Menschenrecht eingeführt.

Die zweite und dritte Staatsprüfung: Hier muss etwas getan werden

“Wir sind in verschiedenen Bereichen unterschiedlich weit entfernt von voller Teilhabe und Selbstbestimmung. In manchen Feldern gibt es mehr rechtliche Regulierungen und politische Bemühungen, z. B. bei der Barrierefreiheit von Amtsgebäuden, aber das Leben spielt sich ja nicht nur in Amtsstuben ab”, sagt Dr. Britta Schlegel, Leitung des Monitoring-Instituts für Menschenrecht.

Bildung:

Die Herausforderungen im Bildungsbereich zeigen sich in mangelnder Motivation und Ablehnung der Inklusion. “Im Bereich der Schule sehen wir ganz deutlich, dass es wirklich große Teile der Gesellschaft gibt, die entweder skeptisch oder dagegen sind, weil eben Stereotype über Kinder mit Behinderungen vorherrschen”, so Schlegel.

In einigen Bundesländern stagniert oder steigt sogar der Anteil der Schüler*innen an Förderschulen. Inklusive Schulen werden als halbherzig angegangen betrachtet, was zu einer Segregation und unzureichenden Lebensverläufen führt.

Mangelnde Selbstbestimmung:

Die Monitoring-Stelle betont einen Mangel an Selbstbestimmung, insbesondere im schulischen Bereich und bei der Beschäftigung in Werkstätten. Selbstbestimmung heißt, individuelle Angebote wahrnehmen zu können und nicht in einem “stark ausgebautem System von Sonderstrukturen” agieren zu müssen.
Seit 2022 gibt es Leitlinien zur Deinstitutionalisierung, das heißt zum Abbau stationärer Einrichtungen. Das System soll mehr individuell Unterstützungsangebote für behinderte Menschen bereitstellen. Diese Deinstitutionalisierung ist allerdings kaum fortgeschritten. Es fehle an einer klaren Strategie, und finanzielle Mittel flössen weiterhin hauptsächlich in stationäre Einrichtungen.

Kein Gewaltschutz:

Menschen mit Behinderungen, insbesondere in geschlossenen Systemen, sind einem höheren Risiko für Gewalt ausgesetzt. Es gibt noch keine unabhängige Überwachungsstelle für den Gewaltschutz in Einrichtungen, wie von der UN-BRK in Artikel 16 gefordert wurde.
Es gibt keinen effektiven Zugang zu Recht, keine Barrierefreiheit in Frauenhäusern, und der SGB-Paragraph 37a verpflichtet zwar zu Gewaltschutzkonzepten, aber ohne effektive Kontrolle und Mindestkriterien.

All diese Mängel werden auch in den abschließenden Bemerkungen des Ausschusses aufgeführt, die am 08.09.2023 in Englisch veröffentlicht wurden.

Die UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention hat die Art und Weise wie mit Menschen mit Behinderungen umgegangen wird maßgeblich verändert. Sie trägt zu einer inklusiven und gleichberechtigten Gesellschaft bei. Die bevorstehende Konferenz zur Nachbetrachtung der zweiten und dritten Staatenprüfung bietet die Gelegenheit Herausforderungen anzugehen und gemeinsam an einer Welt zu arbeiten, in der die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderungen geschützt und respektiert werden. Dieser Prozess ist nicht nur eine Prüfung der Vertragsstaaten, sondern auch ein kollektives Bekenntnis zu einer Welt ohne Barrieren und Diskriminierung.

Einfach für alle

Interesse geweckt? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.​

Mit über 25 Funktionen rund um die digitale Barrierefreiheit hilft Eye-Able auch Ihnen dabei, Ihre Barrieren nachhaltig zu reduzieren. So machen Sie Ihre Informationen zugänglich für alle und schließen keine Besucher*innen aus – kurzum: Sie erschließen eine neue Zielgruppe, ganz ohne hohe Marketing-Volumina.

Icon zeigt Barrierefreiheit-Figur

Beratungsgespräch

Unverbindliches Beratungsgespräch zur digitalen Barrierefreiheit im Allgemeinen

Icon zeigt Barrierefreiheit-Figur

Analyse

Erörterung möglicher Optimierungspotentiale auf Ihrer Website​

Icon zeigt Barrierefreiheit-Figur

Live-Demo

Vorstellung der Assistenzsoftware direkt auf Ihrer Website​

Weitere Beiträge

Falls es etwas mehr sein darf:

Das Bild zeigt 4 Formulare, die durchsichtig sind. Hinter ihnen sieht man zwei Hände, die einen Laptop bedienen.

Wenn Onlineformulare zum Hindernis werden

Jede*r kennt sie, nicht jede*r liebt sie: Heute geht es um Onlineformulare! Wir alle kennen die Situation: Irgendein Produkt wird im Onlineshop bestellt, die Auswahl